When it comes to engine technology, aerodynamics, sports wheels, exhaust systems, suspension or brakes: Constant improvement, setting new goals, winning – this is our motivation, both on the racetrack and in the development of intelligent tuning components for street use. That is our philosophy, not just empty theory, but the result of decades in the hard school of international motorsport. This unique competence and experience, in addition to intensive cooperation with the technological leaders Audi and VW, will keep us moving in the future as well.

Previous Next
1896 Johann Abt founds a blacksmith‘s shop in Kempten
1950 His grandson does his first race on the Kempten grass track, followed by more than 300 motorsport victories.
1967 ABT Tuning is founded. With the Abarth, Johann Abt is very successful in hill climbs.
1978 VW launches the Golf. ABT will be one of the leading car-tuning companies. ABT team’s double triumph at the “Trophée l’Avenir“  touring car series
1980 Chiptuning sees the light of day and is perfected by the ABT specialists. First formula racing successes.
1992 Now, Christian and Hans-Jürgen Abt manage the company and in 1991 found ABT Sportsline GmbH. Christian evolves into a victorious driver and in 1991 wins the Formula Junior title. In 1992, he becomes Formula 3 (B) champion and in 1999 the STW champion.
1999 Following Audi’s withdrawal from the STW, ABT Sportsline assumes control of the program itself. And with great success: at nine of ten races either Christian Abt or team mate Kris Nissen mounts the podium – or both together. The season is dominated by the fierce battle staged between Christian Abt and Opel driver Uwe Alzen. An equally deserving and sensational champion is Christian Abt, who records the greatest sporting victory to date in the company’s history as a result.
2000 As the STW era concludes, the greatest motorsport adventure begins for ABT Sportsline: the squad moves up to the DTM as private team and brings four in-house designed and built Abt-Audi TT-R cars to the grid. The tuning business grows constantly year for year: ABT Sportsline GmbH employs some 200 people, is represented in almost 70 countries spread across all five continents and to this day is the world’s largest tuner of vehicles for the Audi, VW, Seat and Škoda brands.
2002 In addition to Christian Abt, Laurent Aiello, Mattias Ekström and Martin Tomczyk the former Formula 1 driver Karl Wendlinger from Austria completes the quintet. The season starts with a one-two at Hockenheim – ABT Sportsline heads the DTM standings for the first time. At nine of the ten races at least one ABT driver joins in the celebrations on the podium. In the end the man with the most victories, most qualification race wins, most pole positions (4 in each case) and the highest number of fastest race laps (3) is champion: Laurent Aiello. A dream is fulfilled for the priv...
2004 Adria, Lausitzring, Zandvoort, Brünn: Mattias Ekström wins four races and in the end is 17 points ahead, thus winning the DTM championship. The driver from Sweden scored in every race and only three times did he not end up among the top three. That’s what we call consistency.
2007 The duel is Bruno Spengler vs. Mattias Ekström: After the final, “Eki“ is three points ahead of the Canadian, although either was at the very top only once. Mattias Ekström won the first race, at Hockenheim, but has always been in the top league. His Audi Sport Team ABT Sportsline also win the team event.
2008 ABT defends the title: This time the champion is Timo Scheider, winning in Oschersleben, Brands Hatch and the Hockenheim final. The driver from Lahnstein stays calm throughout and outdistances his chief rival, Paul DiResta.
2009 A title hat-trick: Timo Scheider repeats last year’s triumph and becomes champion again. For ABT, it is the third DTM title in a row and part of a particularly successful year.
2009 Another title: The ADAC GT Masters is the ideal setting for Christian Abt. The former DTM pro is a masterful Audi R8 helmsman and at the end of the season has won by 12 points. This is a superb performance by the 42-year-old.
2009 And the third triumph. Christian Abt finishes his active career; Daniel starts his. The son of ABT Sportsline managing director Hans-Jürgen Abt wins the ADAC Formel Masters before he has even turned 17: Another  triumph at the end of a year that has been perfect at any rate.
2010 Daniel Abt is promoted to the German Formula 3 cup and again shows what he is capable of. He ends up second overall.
2010 There is only one Team ABT Sportsline: While an overall victory eludes them, the ABT “young and wild” show an excellent performance in the ADAC GT Masters. And the team win is, of course, celebrated with the entire crew.
2011 The DTM was a duel between Audi and Mercedes-Benz since 2006. ABT Sportsline concluded this era with yet another title: Mattias Ekström and Mike Rockenfeller bring the team championship to Kempten. The cards are re-shuffled for 2012: BMW enters the DTM, every manufacturer build new cars. Mattias Ekström and Timo Scheider spearhead Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline in the new Audi A5 DTM.